All Twitter users can now remove unwanted followers from their profile.
In the October edition of updates, Twitter has allowed for users to manually manage their followers by giving them the option to remove them from their account.
This is essentially working as a ‘soft block’ because you aren’t blocking the user, simply removing them from your follower list. This does mean that the user can still access your tweets and profile, just that you no longer show up in their feed, and of course, they can just follow you again if they so choose.
The feature is useful for creating some distance between yourself and another user, it’s much easier than the previous method of having to block and then unblock a user to make them unfollow you.
It’s going to help to minimise the level of abuse and harassment that some users receive on the platform, this new feature is a step in the right direction for good online behaviour.